The Zentrum Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg
HumanitiesHistory and archaeologyLanguages and literaturePhilosophy, ethics and religion

The Zentrum für jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg (ZJS), founded in 2012, is a joint project between HU, FU, TU, UP, the Abraham Geiger Kolleg and the Moses Mendelssohn Center for European-Jewish Studies. Funded through the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the Center has three focus areas: to educate the next generation, to connect the existing, diverse range of Jewish studies as well as to contribute to internationalizing the research and teaching done in the Berlin-Brandenburg region.


ZJS offers a broad range of research fields thanks to the involvement of the four universities, two institutes and a number of associated institutions. It facilitates the development of networks in transdisciplinary and interdisciplinary approaches to history, philosophy, Jewish studies, theology, literature and music, and art history in the Berlin-Brandenburg region.

The areas of research include the history of the emergence of Jewish studies, Berlin as a location of Jewish emancipation, the dialogue between Judaism, Christianity, and Islam – the so-called monotheistic triangle – as well as memory cultures, especially the testimony and memorial culture on the Shoah. ZJS is an excellent base for taking a doctorate in Berlin and Brandenburg with a coordinated course program involving unique workshops and various research groups. The program takes 4-6 semesters in which doctoral candidates attend the general colloquium and one research group per semester.

Prof. Dr Rainer Kampling Prof. Dr Stefanie Schüler-Springorum  Dr Monika Schärtl Technische Universität Berlin Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Freie Universität Berlin Universität Potsdam internationalising programme

Contact Information

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schoor
Dr. Monika Schärtl
Zentrum Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg
Sophienstraße 22 a
10178 Berlin
+49 (0)30 209 366 311
calls and deadlines vary
no fixed number
Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin and Universität Potsdam